Our Point of View: Yes, Toyota Made 9/11 Contributions

May 07, 2009

by Irv Miller

It seems that email, that most ubiquitous element of modern life, can be a dangerous thing. Anyone can send e-mails that allege almost anything, that convey the most pernicious and malicious falsehoods.

They hit and zap – the contents of that e-mail begin to seep into the public consciousness. What’s interesting is that sometimes – and we know this from experience – those e-mails get recycled to cause a second and third round of headaches and heartaches.

There is, in fact, a problematic example that once again seems to be making the rounds. This one originally surfaced following the horrific events of September 11, 2001. It purported to list auto manufacturers who did, and who did not, contribute to 9/11 disaster relief.

It listed Toyota among those who had made no contribution.

This e-mail has resurfaced this month. The problem with it is that it was false when it first was sent and it remains false now. For a bit of verification of that, check http://www.snopes.com/rumors/cars.asp, http://urbanlegends.about.com/library/blautomakers.htm, http://www.lexus.com/about/news/articles/2001/11/20011113_1.html

We try to be careful about trumpeting the good things we do – including the $1.93 million in disaster-relief funds we contributed following 9/11. But this e-mail is just wrong and we feel the need to point that out.

So if this piece of malicious gossip should make its way to you, just remember, please, that in this brave new world of information distribution, it’s not always possible to believe what you read.

So, permissum lector caveo – or, let the reader beware of lies and urban legends.

Vice President-External Communications
Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc.
Originally published on the Toyota Open Road blog on Dec. 2, 2008

Displaying comments 1 - 5 of 11:

Robert G. Jacobus said...
I think a ignition kill switch on the steering wheel would solve your problem. You would'nt have to remove your hand from the wheel to shut the engine down. Cheers
3/6/10 at 12:00 AM

Laurence said...
It's obviously a SCAM!! If you won the contest, why are you the one being asked to pay $850 up front? That sounds like a pretty lame contest where the "winner" pays big money with no real guarantee of ANYTHING in return. Think about it.......
10/7/09 at 12:00 AM

Auto Sale said...
Good Friend.Really This Is Very Much Impressive. I Will Keep Visiting This Frequently.Dear Friend Cud U Give Me Few Tips For Auto Sale Online.
9/17/09 at 12:00 AM

T.D. Doering said...
It is unfortunate that people don't question or bother to verify that type of smearmail, Toyota is yet another company or individual that has harm done by the spreaders of such junk.
8/29/09 at 12:00 AM

EJ Garner, Toyota USA Newsroom said...
The email you are referring to was not sent from Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. and we suspect that it is not legitimate and a scam. (toyota_newsroom@toyota.com)
6/12/09 at 12:00 AM

Bob Storck said...
Right after 9/11 I was the author of a definitive response to this foul (and seemingly racist as it targeted Asian companies) attack, which was updated for months and posted on major web sites. I spent at least a solid week getting info directly from ALL auto companies, and EVERY one, domestic and foreign, plus many second tier manufacturers and suppliers were ALL exceedingly responsive and generous. Mike Michels headed up a lot of the Toyota response. I'm offended that so many repeatedly post this sad diatribe of hate, and have received it about once a year since.
6/5/09 at 12:00 AM

EJ, Toyota Newsroom said...
This is not a legitimate communication from Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. and is most likely a scam.
5/29/09 at 12:00 AM

EJ, Toyota USA Newsroom said...
Anthony, The message you received is not from Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. and is most likely a scam.
5/29/09 at 12:00 AM

kat said...
received an e-mail that i am a winner. from mr. eddy collins. 107 croydon road, beckenhem, kent, Br3 3ql England, United Kingdom, E-mail: toyota.dept06@googlemail.com. is this legit?!?
5/28/09 at 12:00 AM

< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.

Copyright Notice

All materials on this site are for editorial use only. The use of these materials for advertising, marketing or any other commercial purpose is prohibited. They may be cropped but not otherwise modified. To download these materials, you must agree to abide by these terms.